Forget all the Christian charities and hospitals, let’s talk about their bad tipping habits

untitled (23)

I am going to write about Christians here. Although I am a Christian, I am not writing about myself.

Personally, I do not measure up to the generosity and selflessness of so many of my brothers and sisters in the Faith.

I could do more. Much more.

I could be a better man. Much better

Please understand that I am defending Christians in general, but not myself specifically. I try to make a habit of only defending defensible things.

With that said, I’ve noticed all the people on Facebook linking to stories about this new website called “Sundays are the Worst.” The site, started by a “pastor” a few weeks ago, provides a forum for waiters and waitresses to whine about, as the website’s “about” section explains, “rude” Christian customers who leave “bad tips” and “complain.”

It’s nice to see that this pastor, Chad Roberts, is fulfilling  Christ’s most important command. For, as He famously exhorted, we must “spread the Gospel… and make sure to give voice to anonymous bellyachers who wish to offer dubious and unverifiable anecdotes slandering [His] followers.” I think that’s in Matthew, or was it Luke? In any case, Pastor Chad is doing fine work.

Of course liberal blogs and news outlets have trumpeted Mr. Roberts’ attempt to revolutionize the internet by using it as a staging ground for faceless negativity against Christians. The old “Christians are stingy, non-charitable hypocrites” trope has been once more trotted out, and popular prejudices have yet again been rationalized and vindicated.

Still, I can’t help but feel a little uncomfortable with this whole thing, for three substantive reasons:

1) Christians aren’t bad tippers. According to a 2010 Cornell study, Christians typically give about 17.5 percent — right in line with what’s conventionally considered “normal.” It might be true that some people in the service industry have bad experiences with customers on Sunday, but this does not reflect any sort of trend among Christians in general. Besides, how do you know the religious leanings of your rude customers? Speaking of which…

2) There’s absolutely no way to verify the accusations made by these waiters and waitresses. And what about the other side of the story? Every time a server complains of bad tips we can not immediately assume that he or she was the victim in the situation.

I happen to be a proponent of generous tipping. I wrote about it once before, but I was a little disturbed by some of the responses. Many folks in the service industry chimed in with such unrelenting venom and animosity towards “bad tippers” that it made me wonder if that hostility perhaps leaks into their interactions with customers, thereby leading to poor tips, which leads to more animosity, which leads to more poor tips, and so on, etc. I think this side of the coin can be best encapsulated by three sentences in one email I received from a particularly disgruntled waiter:

“I don’t care if they didn’t like the service. F**k them. Tip anyway.” 

How many of these people bemoaning bad Christian tippers are actually from the “f**k them, tip anyway” school of thought?

Again: I believe wholeheartedly in tipping. However, if your attitude is that unbelievably rotten and poisonous, you don’t deserve a tip. You don’t even deserve a paycheck, frankly. Christians are called to give to the needy, but they are not called to be bullied into handing over their cash to entitled, snide brats. Sorry.

3) The real issue goes beyond some “pastor” attempting to suck-up to mainstream society and capitalize on a cultural meme by bashing Christians. The real issue is the unfair and damaging stereotype that this site erroneously enforces: the notion that Christians are selfish and uncharitable frauds who largely ignore the Bible edicts to give to the poor and serve the less fortunate.

It’s bad enough when atheists and secularists peddle this garbage, but it’s utterly scandalous when Christians do it themselves. And why do they do it? Not because it’s true. It isn’t. They do it because they want to score points and win friends. They want to get a collective head nod and a high-five from the cool kids.

And, in doing so, they succeed in scaring more people away from the Faith while simultaneously undermining all of the inspiring, courageous and selfless work done by BILLIONS of Christians today and throughout history.

Certainly, Christians are not perfect. They could do more, give more, and serve more. Nobody would deny this. If you would like an example of a Christian who is too wrapped up in materialism and consumerism, look no further than yours truly. My TV is too big, my clothes too expensive, my house too full of junk, my mind too full of worldly anxieties. I give less to the needy and keep more for myself and my family, too concerned about having savings and contingents for every possible expenditure that might come along. I am your Christian hypocrite. If you’d like proof that not all Christians follow the Gospel perfectly, or even adequately, here I am.

But there’s a vast canyon-like difference between exhorting someone such as myself to be more generous, and painting all Christians with a broad accusatory brush. The problem is that those brush strokes have succeeded — in the minds of many, anyway — in coloring the entire mass of faithful. The countless good works of multitudes of Christians have been all but obliterated from the public conscience. None of it is happening. None of it ever happened. The light of their love and goodness is buried both by secular propagandists and their Christian sycophants.

Meanwhile, a quarter of the 100 best non-profits in America are Christian.

Take a look at the Forbes list of the 200 largest charities in the country and you will find one Christian organization after another.

The Chronicle of Philanthropy reports that the most charitable states in America are also the most religious, despite being less wealthy than the less charitable states. The anti-Christian crowd will point out that Christians give more to religious charities, but secular groups receive donations equally from religious and non-religious alike. This is true, but it’s also true that the best charities in the world are religious.

The Catholic Church, by far and without contest the largest and most prolific charitable organization on Earth, runs a quarter of the health care facilities in the entire world. This includes about 1200 hospitals and another 1200 orphanages in some of the most destitute regions of Africa. Catholic health and social services organizations have been serving the needy in this nation since before this was a nation.

While internet commenters make sweeping generalizations about the selfishness of Christians, people of faith are stationed in Guatemala, providing food and medicine to the oppressed and impoverished. Christians are healing and serving disabled children at CURE International in Ethiopia. The faithful risk life and limb to offer education in Sudan or food and water in Somalia. They help the victims of earthquakes and droughts. They go to places where they are not wanted, they travel to areas that the world forsakes. They are murdered and persecuted, but still they serve more sick, comfort more children, feed more hungry, and perform more charitable acts than anyone.

Instead of starting a website to compile baseless allegations about stingy Christian tippers, why not tell the world stories of people like the monks of Tibhirine? These men lived in a monastery in an Albanian Muslim town. They served the Islamic inhabitants, and their service was not contingent on conversion (it never is, by the way). When a militant Islamist group showed up and told them to leave, they refused. They knew they would likely die, but they decided to embrace that fate rather than abandon the people who needed them. Sure enough, the group eventually took them prisoner. They were never seen again.

Or why not tell stories like the one about the Christians in Texas who rallied to raise money for an outspoken atheist after he was diagnosed with a devastating medical condition? He had antagonized them and filed lawsuits against them for years, but when he needed charity, they did not turn their backs. Many would, but they did not.

Christians are out there in the muck, in the dirt, in the real world, doing real things. But enemies of the faith are desperate to hide their deeds, which is why they’ve even taken to slandering Mother Teresa, and dismissing the good works of Christ’s followers as nothing but the charitable person’s selfish attempt to rack up brownie points and get to heaven.

Yet the attacks on Mother Teresa, or the smarmy discounting of Christian charity, or the broad stereotypes about bad Christian tippers, always seem to emanate from the shallow waters of Western apathy and luxury. These people aren’t out in the deep end, risking everything to give everything to people who can’t give anything in return. Their criticisms are hollow, but loud enough to distract many of us.

Yes, we Christians can improve. Of course we can. So can you, whoever you are and whatever ideology you profess. But if you only ever speak of the failures of Christianity while never breathing a word of its enormous triumphs, then your motivations are dishonest and your intentions are evil.

Dishonest and evil. Maybe more “pastors” like my friend Chad ought to weed out the really sinister forces in our society, rather than sitting off on the sidelines chucking rocks at boogeymen.

Many of us — myself included — are not acting with the kindness, selflessness and heroism of these Christians. For God’s sake, the least we can do is tell about them.

******

Find me on Facebook.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

279 Responses to Forget all the Christian charities and hospitals, let’s talk about their bad tipping habits

  1. Allison says:

    Matt, I understand the core of what you are saying…Christians are generous and that Sunday after church is not a reflection on the entire Christian community. However, this pastor is located in the buckle of the Bible belt (I know, I live in the same town). The personal interactions the servers have with Christians are not positive on Sundays. I doubt the servers who are trying to make a living care whether or not the person who left no or very little tip gave money to help the needy elsewhere – it’s personal. So this pastor (note my lack of quotations because he is a pastor and no I don’t go to his church) is trying to restore a relationship between two groups. Yes, he is generalizing, but it’s for restoration. He’s not bashing Christians to bash them, but to call attention to an issue that is hurting the witness of all Christians.

  2. Steve says:

    Sunday afternoons in a church-going city are hell for restaurants…everyone gets out at the same time and heads to the restaurants. I guess I’d believe that Christians have a poor tipping record on Sundays. I personally tip at least 20% not matter how bad the service.

    • pappad says:

      When member of our church went out to eat after services, we’d go to a cafeteria-style restaurant that didn’t HAVE “servers.” No tipping involved.

    • Mark Bell says:

      I am a pastor and I never tip under 30%. The way to handle your people in your church as a pastor is to talk to them, not join forces (seemingly) with the rock throwers. Tell your congregation to tip. Hay look at the facts not the perception. My daughter is a waitress at a cafe and she get bad tippers and not just on Sundays. Maybe perception pushed by unhelpful and down right agenda laden people is becoming the reality for people who can’t think for themselves.

      • Elton says:

        As someone who has worked in restaurants and is a christian a lot of them do tip well. The problem in many cases is that they make themselves very conspicuous as a group on Sundays which are often the busiest lunch and the one in which people make the least money(this is not opinion in that restaurant it’s recorded.). When you are clearly in your Sunday best and go out of your way to be seen as Christians remember that people are watching. In the worst cases we had group of twenty or more people from churches come and tip nothing and more than once people left tracts but no tip.
        The problem is that its the same for the staff of a restaurant as it is for a customer when it comes to bad experiences which is to say that 12 positive experiences to make up for 1 negative.
        There is nothing wrong with Christians holding themselves and each other to a higher standard. Sure we’re human and we should admit to making mistakes and trying to fix them rather than trying to defend those mistakes by saying everyone does it.
        The most important thing to remember is that this isn’t about money. It’s a reminder that being able to be a positive witness for Christ to the people you interact with is far more important than anything else you’re going to do on sunday (or any other day for that matter.)

    • Daniel says:

      So I guess Friday and Saturday nights are just peachy king for restaurants in your town right? No problems with customers and everyone tips 30% on those nights, right? Please…….

      • andscifi says:

        two things, one on average the tips are better on Friday and Saturday at every restaurant I have ever worked at. Secondly, does this really matter? Christians on Sunday are easy to spot as a group and when they are rude, don’t tip, ect it looks bad. As Christians (especially when it is obvious who we are) we should be thinking about how we reflect Christ.

  3. lazypadawan says:

    Nobody has to tip. That’s why it’s called a “gratuity.” I could just as easily bring up the times when restaurants assume I don’t want the change or when I’ve had rude or incompetent service. I loathe the barista effect where now even fast food type places have tip jars. Sorry, but making two movements of your arms behind the counter doesn’t entitle you to more of my money.

    That said, if you are in a restaurant, you are getting good to outstanding service, and especially if you are making a lot of demands or requests from your server (large party, extra plates, little kids making a mess, separate checks for multiple parties), I think you do have an ethical obligation to tip fairly and to tip more for extra/above-and-beyond/combat pay service. It is not easy slinging hash and having to do so on your feet for hours with a smile. Most wait staff makes only a couple of bucks an hour; they’re otherwise dependent on tips. Just think: if you nurse a glass of water and some lemons for two hours with seven of your pals, your server is losing money on you because at least two more parties ordering food and drinks could have been in your place.

    I suspect some people might lack the social graces to know these things; there are people out there who seriously haven’t a clue about what’s an appropriate tip. But I also think there are many people out there who are simply CHEAP. Thrift is something that’s prized among a lot of American Protestants (except for Episcopalians…now I would be shocked if they didn’t tip well) but there’s a point where one takes it too far.

    Now, before anyone gloats at the hypocrisy of church-goers who are lousy tippers, I had a friend in college whose mother was sort of a New Age hippie sort. She said that when they went out to eat and didn’t have enough for tips, her mom would simply leave some crystals.

  4. Frank says:

    With as few stories as SundaysAreTheWorst.com has the non-tipping and low tipping seems to the exception and not the rule for Christians. I even tipped an extra 5% a few Sundays ago as I could see the waitress was having a tough day and followed up with a comment to the Restaurant’s website with a good compliment for our server. I think she needed it.

  5. I am a Christian and served at various restaurants over the course of 6 very unpleasant years. There are a million stereotypes about who tips badly in the restaurant industry. Pretty much every racial minority, the old, the young, foreigners, and yes, Christians. There are plenty of exceptions to these stereotypes, but they start somewhere. And I would often commiserate with my husband on many a Sunday afternoon during those years that my fellow Christians were really hurting their witness. Because it doesn’t matter what huge giving is going on on a large scale, when you make 2.33 an hour and are working your tail off, being sweet and helpful, and doing everything you can to ingratiate yourself to the good old boy with the Christian drawl and his mousy little wife and they still leave you a 5% tip with a tract and then you go over to a table of dirty talking, hard living, old men who appear to belong in a motor cycle gang and they give you a 25% tip for no apparent reason it kind of makes you hate Sunday afternoons and reiterates the “Christians are hypocrites” stereotype. I don’t care if the mega Church they attend just single-handedly rebuilt Haiti, I care about the fact that I needed to make 50 dollars that day to make rent, and I would have if they hadn’t thought a cheesy, tract written in Christianese would somehow be a cool substitute.
    I get what you are saying about this Pastor doing this just to fit in and be cool, but I think he is trying to make a point Christians and their non-Christian servers need to hear.

  6. M. Smith says:

    I love your blog. I told my dad and husband to read. I agree with everything I’ve read so far. I also LOVED the $15,000 donated. My mom and brother are heading to Haiti next week. I can’t wait to hear about their missions trip! If anyone is in the Chrisitan giving mood I’d love support on my Donors Choose family and friend challenge. I need 10 more donors of $20 to reach the free $750 gift card mark. I teach in a public school and love being able to be a light to these students. I pray everyday that I can positively impact them! Take a peek if you’d like. http://www.donorschoose.org/mrssmith121. It has to be a $20 or more donation to a project or a gift card to my classroom.

  7. melv12 says:

    Much to my husbands chagrin, I tip about 30 percent! It’s a nice way to be a blessing to someone, no matter their service! Having been a waitress in my younger years during college, I know I often had rough nights and was just stressed out about tests, work, and keeping up my grades! Though obviously over tipping isn’t required, has it ever hurt anyone?

  8. melv12 says:

    Much to my husbands chagrin, I typically leave a 30% tip. I love any opportunity I am given to just bless someone whether they earned it or not. When I was waitressing in my younger college days, I had rough nights when I was worried about tests, papers, work, and keeping my grades up! My mom taught me to look at every person in life, and know that there are often hurts and trials following them! We actively look around us for those who could use encouragement, even the rude waiter!

  9. vallaura says:

    Reblogged this on Vallaura's Blog.

  10. Wanda says:

    I am a Christian and I have served as a waitress in the past. I have to say that when I worked on Sundays I was very embarrassed by my fellow Christians. They were very lousy tippers, and it was well noted by the non Christians I worked with.
    I loved my church and I love the body of Christ, but it is a sad day when you have a restaurant full of Christians and the tips they leave are gospel tracts and 10 cents or even pennies! That happened a lot!
    Then a bunch of very clearly non Christians come in and leave big tips all to the same waiter or waitress that served the Christians earlier after their church service.
    I do not condone Christian bashing , but this is reality in a lot of restaurants.
    Our actions speak louder than those tracts that get swiftly thrown into the garbage.
    If we come in and are gracious , kind and showing Christ’s love to the server , and leave them an appropriate tip that will do wonders! But what I have seen is a lot of Christians act like they are entitled to be served and not even say thank you .
    I wonder what kind of tip Jesus would give?
    If it means we eat out less because we leave a bigger tip so be it . That is better than leaving a stale taste of Christianity in someones mouth.
    It is in the little things, the little actions or words that we don’t think matter that really do matter.
    Just think about it, if a Muslim came in was kind , joyful and left a big tip or was gracious to the clerk at the grocery store and then a Christian came in acting like they were entitled to be served or was rude and did not even leave a tip who would that non Christian think was the better person.
    We need to love people and treat them the way we would want to be treated.

  11. I ALWAYS LEAVE A 10.00 TIP AND WE USUALLY GO TO THE SAME PLACE THE WAITERS AND WAITRESSES ALREADY KNOW WHAT THE TIP WILL BE AND MOST OF THE TIME WE GET THE SAME GIRL UNLESS SHE IS NOT THERE AND ONCE A YEAR WE GIVE HER 100.00 TIP (TAX TIME) BUT THEY ALWAYS SERVE US WELL AND ALSO MOST OF THE TIME THIS WAITRESS GIVES THE KIDS SOMETHING OR ME SOMETHING LITTLE TOKENS SHE CALLS THEM AND IN CASE YOUR WONDERING OUR BILL TO THE FOOD IS USUALLY BETWEEN 27 AND 35 DOLLARS IF I GET ONE THAT DON’T SERVICE US AS WELL I START DEDUCTING IN MY HEAD FROM THE TIP BUT WILL STILL GIVE A MIN OF 5.00 EVEN IF THEY ARE BAD AND ON HOLIDAYS LIKE CHRISTMAS AND SUCH I GIVE 20.OO OR 25.00 I THINK BEING A GOOD TIPPER IS IMPORTANT AND I GIVE THE TIP TO MY 2 BOYS AND THEY GO AND HAND IT TO THE WAITER OR WAITRESS I THINK IT IS IMPORTANT FOR THEM TO BE PART OF THIS PROCESS AND HOPE THEY WILL TAKE THESE SAME VALUES WITH THEM WHEN THEY GROW UP…ALSO IN CASE YOUR WONDERING I AM A CHRISTIAN AS WELL

  12. Sheila says:

    Matt, I love your blog and agree with you 99% of the time. However, I waited tables in my younger years and I get where these servers are coming from. I HATED working Sunday brunch. I worked at a restaurant where two kids ate free per one paying adult. So, I would end up with four adults and eight kids (what we referred to as a 12 top). So, I’d be serving 12 people (not easy, let me tell you), who would only tip 15% of the discounted check (after staying throughout the lunch rush and taking up my entire section). Normally they would order lunch items and water. So, after running myself silly and cleaning up the huge mess from eight small children, I’d receive (on average) a $6 tip on a $40 check. Yes, I agree…they would run me to death (refilling 12 drinks, more this, more that), stay throughout the entire brunch rush, (leaving this as my only table to serve, since we had to push the four tables in my section together to accommodate their group) leave a huge mess to clean up, and tip based on only the meals they were required to actually pay for. I referred to Sunday brunch shift as the “opening of the gates of Hell” since I had to go in early to prep for the lunch crowd, stay over to clean up the mess in my section, and walk out of there with $6 in tips. And yes, this was a regular occurrence, not just a one-time thing. Honestly, back in the day, the best section to serve was the “smoking” section. These people tended to drink as well, and left HUGE tips 🙂

    I still love your blog!!!!

    • I can easily see that happening. People should consider tipping the minimum 15% per hour they choose to camp at their tables. And people also need to know that the tips should be offered based on what they ordered before discounts and freebies. Just because the patron doesn’t pay for a dish doesn’t mean that he was not served.
      As for the smokers tipping better, that must be a local thing because the smoking section in our town is NOT the section you want to get saddled with because they don’t tip. My son was saddled with the smoking section until he was recognized as one of the best servers so to keep him they let him serve in the non-smoking.

      • andscifi says:

        I think the key to the smoking section that she mentioned was that people tended to drink as well. I assume this is alcohol and since people who drink tend to smoke more and people who were drinking tend to tip better it all links together pretty well.

  13. The “Sunday is the Worst” website is a culmination of the kinds of atrocities that servers allegedly receive at the hands of the after church groups. While they may be painting Christians with a broad brush, they probably neglect to recognize all the times that Christians treat them very generously. But I’m curious, so many on here have alluded to servers “not deserving” the customary 15% tip because of poor service, yet I’ve not heard what sort of atrocities these servers committed to warrant not getting the tip. Just that “they didn’t deserve it.” What warrants no tip?

    • Mark Bell says:

      To answer that. I was at a well know chain restaurant in Pocomoke City, Maryland on a Sunday night. We sat down and the table was dirty. We did not say a word but used our napkins and cleaned it ourselves. When we ordered I ordered a large coke and a burger and fries. When the waitress brought the food she placed the food on the table and then spilled the coke on my food and all over me. I had it in my hair, on my jacket and shirt and pants and shoes. She said, “Oh, sorry. I”’ get you some more napkins.” My food was not replaced even though it was floating in coke and the seat I was siting in was covered with sticky coke. My wife had some baby wipes in her purse and we used them to clean myself up as best I could. The waitress went to the kitchen and we could hear her tell the other wait staff what had happened. They all burst out laughing and continued to laugh for quite awhile. She did not appear again for over 10 min. My family ate their food and when she came back I told her I could not eat mine since it was drenched in coke. She took it away and presented us with the bill. I paid the bill and left a 30% tip. Not for good service but because I am a pastor and love people no matter how they treat me. My daughter is a waitress while she works her way through Bible School studying Christian education and I’ve told her to treat everyone the same no matter what they do or say – be pleasant and serving. It is what Jesus would do. I practice what I preach. There are many times when servers don’t deserve a tip. This was not the only time things went wrong.

      • pappad says:

        I would have left that waitress two pennies…period. That way she’d know I hadn’t “forgotten” her tip, but considered her “service” to be undeserving of one.

        • andscifi says:

          I understand that, but as Christians the concept of grace is one we should be aware of. The idea of what we deserve and what we get should be one that Christians are extremely aware. If you get bad service you don’t need to go there again, but don’t leave a church service where you heard about how Jesus paid your debt and gave you everything when you deserved nothing and then punish the waitress.

    • pappad says:

      How about slapping your food down in front of you with their thumb in the gravy, ignoring them until time to present the check, failing to re-fill drinks, ignoring requests for “non-standard” items, such as an extra helping of sour cream sauce, etc. etc. etc.? If a waiter or waitress WANTS a tip from a customer, they should be attentive TO that customer’s needs. I tip generously for good service. I “tip” considerably less for poor service.

      • What I was trying to address is the subjectivity scale between “excellent” and “poor” service and all gradations in between. I feel it’s unfair for the wait staff to get gypped when the kitchen or someone else was at fault. Or if they took too long to respond to extraneous requests while taking care of other tables. The thumb in our food would be an issue. I wouldn’t stress over lack of refills unless I asked repeatedly and was outright refused. Personally in all my years of eating out (we eat out and travel frequently) I have experienced two times where I considered not tipping (we did anyway). Once, when a large roach was found swimming in our pitcher of tea as we sat on the deck of an expensive seafood restaurant. She said “hmmm. It must have fallen in from up there…” and we had to ask her to replace it, and we were charged for the extra pitcher. The second time was at a restaurant where the waitress loudly interrupted our brief prayer by yelling “Hellooooo?! Hellooooo?!” and later tossed a plate of toast on the table so that the toast slid off the plate. The rest of the grievances I chalked up to being human and knowing full well I have failed in others’ expectations of me also.

  14. mkwhitt says:

    Mo, you have a heart problem, not a money problem. This is evidenced by your attitude toward ALL servers and your fondness for lots of name-calling. The people waiting tables are “special snowflakes”? That’s what you call someone who works their butt off to put food on the table and pay the bills? At least they aren’t sitting at home collecting welfare. Of course I can’t shame you if you feel comfortable taking someone else’s labor without paying them.

    • mo says:

      @mkwhitt –

      You have no idea what I’m even talking about, do you? Interesting how you don’t actually address anything I’ve said.

      I bet you’re one of those people who constantly shrieks, “Don’t judge!” while doing the same to me.

      Goodbye.

      • mkwhitt says:

        Mo, what did I not address? Actually, I don’t usually shriek, and I’m not one of those running around saying “Don’t judge”, because it’s not biblical.

  15. auntybethy says:

    Another person has been in the news lately because he’s been leaving ridiculously large tips for people and has gone under the moniker “tips for Jesus”.

  16. lkjslain says:

    Reblogged this on lkjslain.

  17. The shame is not necessarily to be placed on those who don’t tip, or who tip little according to the expectations of those who work. The shame should be heaped rightfully upon those who make it necessary for others to regard a tip as part of their wage, who simply do not pay enough to guarantee the right workers, the right service for their customers.

  18. Kathy Latimer says:

    Matt, I ALWAYS agree with you. But in one paragraph you are dead wrong. You said the catholic church is the most prolific charitable organization on earth, because of all the hospitals and orphanages they run. Matt, do you realize what these hospitals charge? Just like other hospitals, it’s all about the money. I went to a catholic hospital in Kentucky and was charged $1500.00 for fifteen minutes of being in their emergency room. The only thing I got for that, was my blood pressure taken three times and told the problem I was having was just a reaction to taking niacin and I would be fine in a few hours. Drink plenty of water. That was it. You don’t think that is outrageous. I was lucky and could pay my bill. But if you don’t have the money, you don’t get care. You ought to be ashamed for building them up. Catholic organizations only care about the money and amassing great wealth for the Vatican. And who knows what’s happening to the kids in the orphanages in Africa. For heaven’s sake they were abusing children here in the states for how long? I would say they’re having a field day over in Africa and in other undeveloped nations. I AM catholic and I love the mass, but as far as the catholic organizations and the Vatican, they should all be ashamed. They need to ask themselves: What Would Jesus Do? If He answered, these charitable Catholic’s you speak so highly of, would be in trouble .

  19. Janean says:

    Thank you for this. As always I enjoy your blog and feel they are spot on…at least with my way of thinking, heheh. I really liked this one because it addresses a particular problem I’ve been noticing with Christ’s body. That is Christians attacking their own Body. It’s as if they are trying to get approval from the world or trying to show the world how enlightened they are by riding the fence on issues and attacking people supposedly of the same faith. I like a comment a pastor made on this blog stating that as a pastor these issues should be addressed within the church, not making available more fuel for anti-Christian groups to hate even more. I don’t agree with everything every Christian does or believes, but I love the Church!

    • andscifi says:

      “Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent.” and while I understand this is referring to God chastising the church I think it’s completely reasonable for those of us who see the church doing something wrong to speak out, because that is part of what love is.
      As to it being dealt with in churches, that would be great, except that in many if not most churches it isn’t being dealt with. That is why the problem continues and even if it was the idea that we shouldn’t speak out because it makes the church look bad is far more systematic of trying to get the world to love us, than speaking out against something that the church is doing wrong.

  20. Zak R. says:

    I don’t agree at all: I don’t see it as christian-bashing, but as calling out hypocrisy and pointing out to people how their actions affect the attitudes that others might have towards them and their group. I cannot understand the mindset of people who leave (accusatory, condemning) religious tracts in place of a tip — or worse yet, the religious tracts designed to *look* like money — so I can only imagine they are ignorant of how their actions are perceived by the very persons they are trying to evangelize to. And there are others who are simply ignorant of how the payment scheme works for servers at restaurants (it is truly despicable). Hopefully, this site can help to educate those people and open their minds — or better still, change how the restaurant industry works as a whole (though that isn’t a stated goal of the site).

    • Zak R. says:

      And the point of the stories isn’t that christians as a whole are bad tippers, but that the *worst* customers restaurants have are typically overtly christian-identified, and the worst practices of bad tipping are related to these customers’ attempts at proselytizing their servers and condemning their lifestyle and situation in terms of shame, in a way that comes off absurdly self-righteous and judgmental (i.e. not as Jesus taught).

      • pappad says:

        So you BUY that nonsense about someone leaving a bogus “note” condemning a lesbian waitress’ “lifestyle?” Maybe you didn’t hear, but it was as phony as “I did NOT have sex with that woman. Ms Lewinsky.” The “waitress” wrote that stupidity on the receipt herself!!! Her customers KEPT their copy and it had no such comment written on it. They, in fact, HAD tipped her generously.

        • andscifi says:

          Perhaps that one case was false, but the problem isn’t. There was a gay waiter(and clearly so but not in any way offensive of pushy about it) at one of the restaurant I worked at and Christians were often rude. Written proof wasn’t common but I heard and saw it, including people who wanted free meals.

      • mkwhitt says:

        Well said, Zak. Maybe the restaurant industry should change the way it works, but UNTIL it changes, customers who disagree with the current system shouldn’t punish their poor servers with bad tips.

  21. rebekah says:

    Its another wrong in our society that peoples wages are forced to come out of the pockets of people who have already paid MORE than enough for the product and service provided.
    A tip is something voluntarily given as a gift for an act of generosity or to commend someone for exemplary service.
    Do I tip? Yes because I know that is how the poor waitress will make her money. Do I allow society to demand I tip 20% ormore no matter the quality of service? No. Why does my ticket total demand I tip more if no more work was done?

    • mo says:

      @ Rebekah –

      Thank you so much for saying this! I have been called all sorts of ugly names here for saying the same thing.

      • Well maybe we need to change the semantics and stop calling a “tip” a tip and start calling it what it should be defined as–a “commission”. We buy houses, cars, and appliances and without a hitch pay commission to those providing the service. I think if we started calling the real estate commission a “tip” for selling our house — we could see this from a different perspective. So, we pay restaurant servers a “commission” to serve us the food. They make no real salary other than the “commission” that they earn from customers. We don’t alter the commission that a salesperson “earns” if they are a poor real estate agent or a poor car salesman. We pay the whole amount, don’t we? Maybe not cheerfully, but they rely on those commissions the same way a server does. What if we said, “That car salesman took too long to get our paperwork. He was rude and interrupted our questions about financing. I ain’t paying him the commission. Maybe next time he’ll learn to speed up the process.

  22. k23mt says:

    In my experience…..from a sociological perspective…..black christians tip, white christians don’t……I once got a pamphlet instead of a tip from a large christian table…….ok, maybe they thought my soul was more important than money…….but, I’m already saved…….you jerks left me nothing…….no, I don’t get minimum wage…….thanks for wasting my time while I’m trying to earn a living

  23. jen says:

    Good thing you only apparently read a tiny piece of the Cornell study examining many religious affiliations and found Christians to be The Worst. Ignorance is bliss after all.

  24. Nikole Hahn says:

    The problem with Sunday’s Are The Worst is how fast negativity can spread, labeling every Christian as bad. If anyone has run a group before, they know it doesn’t take much for one negative story to be fed by another and another until the original purpose is blurred, nearly forgotten, as people take “enjoyment” in lambasting. I would have liked to see a balanced version of this website, showing both the positive and negative on both sides. In other words, both sides of the story of the situation; stories of how Christians helped the lunch time workers and how they have harmed.

    You know from your own experiences how someone can take a situation out of context, judging it wrongly. This points the finger at Christians in general and my beef with it all is the negativity and the lack of accountability in the church.

    The shepherd needs to hold his own flock accountable to their actions. Each of us who go out to eat with someone rude needs to be the real friend and confront with love the person who may or may not realize how their behavior is coming off. or compensate for the behavior by being the kinder person. This website really bothers me. In googling it, I find a lot of sites are loving it. When it’s putting down Christians, the other side will love it. I haven’t seen many like this one who offers a different point of view. Can we stop the infighting amongst each other and show some unity? Christians have made a positive impact on the world. It’s no wonder the church is declining when we allow the devil a foothold. Great article.

Comments are closed.