Watching this video might be the most important thing you do today

I don’t do this. I don’t think I’ve ever done this.

I don’t use this blog to simply pass along content from other websites. I’ve always wanted this to be a place for my opinion and commentary, not copied and pasted regurgitation.

So, honestly, when someone — a friend of Abigail’s — sent me this video last week, I didn’t think I’d put it on my site.

But then I watched it.

And then I watched it again.

This is truly one of the most powerful things I’ve ever seen. I don’t say that lightly. The woman in the clip is named Abigail Smith.

imagesCAGXQ8GQ

She had terminal cancer. She died a couple of weeks ago — shortly after filming this.

What makes this video remarkable is the sheer courage, faith, and wisdom this young woman demonstrates. I can write all day about these things in the abstract, but Abigail Smith provides us with a moving, real life illustration. Here she is, facing down her own imminent death, and doing so with poise and grace.

I am a coward, so I can’t fathom how she could so heroically confront her mortality. Death scares me. It terrifies me. And now that I have a wife and children, I feel an almost suffocating, paralyzing fear of death. It’s not just my own death; more pressingly, it’s the unavoidable reality that everyone I love will one day — any day — be taken. These thoughts make existence feel fragile, which it is, and I can barely cope with that fact.

Yet here is this 24 year old woman, marching into her demise with a smile on her face and love in her heart. But it isn’t simply the smile that fascinates and inspires me; it’s the incredible insights she offers.

This is genuinely beautiful, tragic, sad, edifying, and definitely worth ten minutes of your time. Watch it.

It might be the most important thing you do today.

A Facebook page dedicated to Abby can be found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Watching this video might be the most important thing you do today

  1. Reblogged this on Gardengal Bevy and commented:
    if you need inspiration, watch this video. it’s worth your time.

  2. thedmancometh says:

    When I watch things like this,I am saddened because of my own self concerns.I agree that looking death in the face is a troubling part of all our lives.Even the great Christian John Wesley had a fear of death.I don’t know how I will react when the time comes but I pray for the Lord to give all of us strength.

  3. Jeff says:

    Matt,

    Usually, not always but usually, grace is given in the season it is needed…or at or near the end of it. Since you don’t need it, you don’t have it.

    With a smile, I’d like to refer you to the bit above where I say “…you don’t need it.” You don’t need the fear either. Forget that beast. It doesn’t do anything useful unless you’re going hand to hand with a saber tooth tiger or the like.

    I’ve had the great privilege of knowing a number of people who have passed and a fair number that have broken the miscreant heart of evil by cheating death for a season (a couple of these from cancer.) All of them knew the one that spoke them into existence. All of them received grace that was staggering.

  4. Luscinia says:

    And lo, the viper Lindzei bore fangs into the pristine soil of our Gran Pulse; despoiled the land and from it crafted a cocoon both ghastly and unclean. Lies spilled forth from the serpent’s tongue: ‘Within this shell lies paradise.’ Men heard these lies and were seduced and led away. O cursed are the fools who trust a snake and turn their backs upon the bounty of Pulse’s hallowed land! For those who dwell in that cocoon are not Men, but slaves of the demon Lindzei.
    Ye who honor Pulse: rise unto the heavens, and cast down the viper’s nest!
    — Author unknown

  5. Luscinia says:

    Her Providence sought nothing.
    Her Providence made nothing.
    She but looked on, silent in Her sorrow.
    The Goddess pitied mortals, destined as they were to die, and so She deigned to intervene in the hour of their greatest peril. She averted cataclysm that was to be, and put to rest the ones who would have robbed so many of what time fate had ordained.
    Her compassion did not end at this.
    The Goddess pitied also those subjected to that fate of Focus, crueler still than death. To them She sent Her messengers, to deliver hope when all was lost.

  6. Shelley D. says:

    This was beautiful! I am a Sarcoma Survivor of 4 years now. The Lord chose to heal my physical body for now, he chose to heal hers with a new body. Her story was just beautiful! The scripture she quoted was one that got me through my battle as well. A peace that passes all understanding….. I know it wasn’t your intention to bring awareness to Sarcoma, but in posting this you did. It is a forgotten cancer that goes misdiagnosed frequently because of lack of knowledge. If you are interested, you should check out the Miles 2 Give team who just ran across the USA for Sarcoma warriors and are running AROUND the USA in 2014 (10,000) miles! Love your blog!!! Your writing is awesome!

  7. Reblogged this on Home's Cool! and commented:
    If you haven’t seen this, you should. Only ten minutes, and so good…

  8. rightbill says:

    Reblogged this on The Catholic Me… and commented:
    Is this woman not one of the most beautiful women you have ever seen?

  9. Spar Harmon says:

    A personal thanks, from an old man, an old alcoholic, an old warrior of peace and truth, who has been saved from alcoholism through the Grace of God, My Father, and who tries to walk the walk and talk the talk that reveals God’s miraculous working in me– I am not that good at it but my life is in the care of Jesus, that Great Shepherd, and with His support and guidance I may do some good to others in need of help. So I thank you for passing along this video, it has lifted me from some discouragement I was feeling… because I still try to conceal my weaknesses…it never occurred to be that they are the very channel through which the Savior came, which reduced me to the necessary humility to reach out for help from my immediately present Redeemer…
    Bless you for your work, Truth warrior, from a Treeper.

  10. mynameisern says:

    Thank you for posting this… I needed to be reminded that one of the greatest miracles we can receive in this life is the gift of personal peace.

  11. Pamela says:

    Thank You For this I myself have my own video, but it’s just myself some family & friends that came to have a 20 yr reunion. I have stage 4 Brain Cancer and all I’m hoping is to see Christmas. I have a loving husband, 6 beautiful kids & 5 Amazing Grandkids….and that’s all I want for Christmas.
    I’ll give her a hug for everyone when I get there

  12. sdureault says:

    Watch this and all our problems seem so small and insignificant. Mom

  13. Wayne Carter says:

    Praise God, He has shown how to really trust and be at peace. Amen

  14. Lisa Jimenez says:

    Her relationship with God was so strong. Thank you for sharing this. I’ve also shared it.

  15. Reblogged this on It's By Grace Alone and commented:
    My mom forwarded this blog post to me (which happens to have been recommended to her by my wife). It’s funny how it goes full circle and God uses these kinds of stories to show just how powerful his word is in this world. She says that “miracles are just small glimpses of what God can do” (paraphrasing), which is why she said he didn’t heal her. She ended up dying, but is alive through faith in her savior. And like a small “seed” that fell to the ground, her voice is still heard. Like Abel, she still speaks.

    Matt Walsh wrote another blog post not too long ago (I’m assuming as much because my wife just sent it to me) about how he had decided to leave his radio gig and go full time with his blog. It was timely for me because I decided to do the same thing in my life and leave a steady paycheck to pursue growing my own firm. The strong desire in me to do something better, lasting, and meaningful has driven me to this point in my life – and although he circumstances that prompted me to take this risk had bits of “cancer” in them, I believe God will provide for me and my family regardless.

    I only hope that this new full time venture in my life has even the most remote amount of impact as this dear Christian woman’s. Her death in Christ gives me an even fuller appreciation for what God meant when he wrote “all things work for the good of those who love him.” Instances like this bury pop cultural misuse of this passage in the depths of a pit. But God does work even through our death. He does it because he died to conquer death, turning our understanding of this world upside down and giving us something to cling to like a baby to his mom.

    No, like Abby to her Lord.

  16. Aaron says:

    Thank you for sharing this video. I really appreciate when we actually talk about these tough issues, don’t think that we do it enough. Death is scary, so it’s understandable. I was glad to catch her talk about her experience being close to the other side of this life, and the real peace that’s on the other side. I’m convinced that life continues after death. My friend James Best, wrote a post about his aunt who passed some time ago, check it out http://goo.gl/a6eqvG

    Just discovered the blog here, gotta say I love it! Keep up the online gig! You’ve got a new fan.

  17. Linda says:

    I am a 50-year old cancer survivor (diagnosed with stage 3 ovarian cancer 12 months ago). I recently went through a 2-month period of time where I had good reason to fear recurrence of my cancer. I spent the better part of the last 2 months coming to terms with my own mortality and with the hope that is found in Christ alone. I realized that the hope that I THOUGHT I had been relying on over the last year was, in fact, hope that I had placed in positive medical reports and a good prognosis. It really was not the hope that the Lord promises over and over again in His Word. When the good reports seemingly vanished, I had to see that I had not fully realized the truth of my eternal hope and what it means for me as a child of God. I came to see that I am FAR too firmly entrenched in my earthly existence.

    Just after coming through this time of uncertainty a friend post this video (and one other) on my Facebook page. This young woman’s faith truly astounded me. I prayed on the spot that the Lord would bring me to the place of quiet acceptance that Abby displayed in these videos. What an amazing testimony of faith, of grace, and of hope. Abby clearly understood where her hope was found. I’m so glad that her story/testimony is spreading. I agree with you 100%…watching this video might be the most important thing that someone does today. It was for me.

  18. Glenn says:

    It was very touching but I was hoping there would be a testimony of the SAVING power of Jesus, how that whilst Abby was still a sinner, Christ died for her.

  19. Susan says:

    I have cancer. This girl said everything I would want to say. Awesome.

  20. Martha says:

    I have read so many articles or reviews about the blogger lovers
    except this piece of writing is really a good post, keep it up.

Comments are closed.