Tales worth telling

I saw something on 60 Minutes a few days ago about the Lost Boys of Sudan. They are a group of Sudanese refugees who fled their home country when an army of Muslim militants slaughtered their villages and murdered their families. Thousands of young children traveled for years across desert and wilderness, with nothing but the clothes on their backs and Bibles in their hands, before making it to refugee camps in Kenya and Ethiopia. Finally some of them were granted passage to the United States, where they were first introduced to things like electricity and can openers. Many of them are now contributing citizens and some have even been reunited with family members who presumed them dead long ago.

So, anyway, I’m watching this and I’m thinking: “This is an absolutely incredible story. I am awe struck. Little kids who watched their whole families get hacked to death managed to escape and walk A THOUSAND MILES across Africa?! Adults in this country can’t even jog to the mailbox without complaining about shin splints. Man, this right here is a tale of redemption, struggle, hope, love, faith, loss, courage, death, and life. Some major movie studio needs to make a big budget film about these people and their journey. This is a story that’s worth telling, and certainly worth hearing. Maybe Hollywood will-”

Just then, the show went to a commercial break and a preview for G.I. Joe 2 came on. The words “Number one movie in America!” flashed across the screen. I fell into a deep despair.

Why tell stories worth telling when you can film the Rock shooting at a green screen for 87 minutes and still make 40 million the first weekend?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tales worth telling

  1. Moron Pundit says:

    You absolutely, without excuse need to watch this movie. It is amazing in many ways.

    http://www.godgrewtiredofus.com/

  2. Moron Pundit says:

    Now that I think about it, this might interest you as well. A bit over-the-top at times but a stirring story of faith and courage.

    http://www.machinegunpreacher.org/movie/

  3. Moron Pundit says:

    My previous comment was eaten by the internet so the phrasing above seems lunatic. Believe me when I say I am not a lunatic but actually quite sane and literate!

    Anyway, I suggested watching this documentary about the Lost Boys who were allowed to immigrate to the U.S. after living in their nightmare U.N. camp. It is fantastic from many perspectives.

    http://www.godgrewtiredofus.com/

  4. sofia says:

    I completely agree. I was totally moved by this piece on 60 mins. I cried and then made my spoiled brat teenager watch it. Maybe she has a new prospective on life. But I rather doubt it.

  5. Glen says:

    I take my 11 year old daughter to the cinema and watch vapid CGI crap nearly every single time.

    When I was a kid I had the Star Wars movies and Indiana Jones and E.T and the Goonies and the Gremlins and Stand by me and other films of the era.

    I was also taken to see Pinnochio and the Jungle Book and Fantasia.

    I see so called kids films now and lament.

Comments are closed.