Cops Save Poor People From Harmless Plant, Billions of Dollars

Image

 
Law enforcement agencies confiscated more than 1.5 BILLION dollars worth of marijuana in central Appalachia this year.

One and a half billion. And that’s actually down from the 2 billion they hauled in last year.

Does anyone think this makes sense? I mean, apart from some of the folks in government that need this Crusade on Plants to justify their paychecks, does anyone else think it makes sense? In a region of the country perpetually stricken by poverty, with an unemployment rate at about 15 percent, where the biggest drug abuse problem stems from legal prescription narcotics, we swoop in and decimate a cash crop that yields 2000 dollars a plant and could bring jobs, resources and a livelihood to a people in desperate need of it. Does that make sense to you? Now we, the tax payers, foot the bill for thousands of police to work thousands of manhours to put hundreds of people in jail for making a living growing a substance that has never killed anyone and is impossible to overdose on and which, if legalized, would instantly go from a drain on the economy to a financial windfall for everyone. Does that make sense to you? And every drug bust and federal sting operation does nothing to even put a dent in marijuana proliferation yet we stay the course all the same as if we have some sort of moral imperative to hopelessly attempt to stop people from using a weed far less dangerous than everything in your medicine cabinet. Does that make sense to you? In a part of the nation where we made harmless everyday Joes into criminals during prohibition we now turn around and do it again even though every sane individual fully and readily admits that it was a horrible mistake and a drastic governmental overreach back in the 1920’s. Does that make sense to you?
 
Image
Remember how well this worked out for everyone? And by ‘everyone’ I mean Al Capone.

If you’ve ever been through central Appalachia you know that they’ve got real poverty up there. Not the “I can’t afford a second iPad” poverty. More like the “please buy me a solar powered toaster for Christmas because I don’t have electricity” poverty.

 
Image
The people living here are grateful to be saved from a plant that could make them enough money to build a house with walls and a door.
 
Yet there are people making friggin’ Walmart Money in that region. I’m talkin’ Walmart CEO money, not Walmart mop pusher money. And what do we do? Throw them in prison with the rapists and murderers because the product they sell offends our delicate sensibilities. In fact my sensibilities are so offended I might need the doctor to up my dosage of this pharmaceutical speed I’ve been legally poppin’ since 10th grade.

And don’t give me the “well it’s illegal and so it’s illegal and that’s why it’s illegal” argument. First of all, that’s not an argument. That’s the rhetorical equivalent of plugging your ears and spinning in ciricles. Second, going 26 in a 25 is illegal but I’m sure you’d protest mightily if the judge gave you 52 months in Shawshank for doing it.

Personally, I don’t like drugs. I don’t even take Advil when my head hurts. But the one thing I hate more than a drug is an illogical position that can not be rationally defended by anyone who holds it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cops Save Poor People From Harmless Plant, Billions of Dollars

  1. Vonique Leary says:

    Marijuana has been proven to be carcinogenic and is known to be a lung irritant. Also, studies have shown that marijuana users have short term memory loss and suffer increased anxiety. Have you done any reading on this matter or is it just your opinion that “no one has EVER died from marijuana use”? You never cited any facts, just your own pompous DOES THIS MAKE SENSE nonsense spouting off. In fact, you sound quite ignorant. I can’t imagine anyone listening to one who expounds vociferously without really knowing any facts, or ai least presenting any evidence to back up your feelings.

    • Steven McNight says:

      Umm actually, the FDA did a report based on statistics from 1997-2005. It reports that … As a primary suspect of death “TOTAL DEATHS FROM MARIJUANA = 0” AND “TOTAL DEATHS FROM 17 FDA-APPROVED DRUGS = 10,008”. More people have died from eating peanuts this year than all recorded history of marijuana use. Edibles and Vaporising pretty much squashes your carcinogenic argument besides, everything you burn creates a carcinogen, even a lovely piece of steak(which causes colon cancer). Your claimed studies with short term memory loss, and Anxiety I’d like to see the real data on that, because the sativa strain actually increases creativity, alertness and focus. Don’t even get me started on the benefits of hemp, for both health and manufacturing! The brainwashing that continues to go on with this little plant is outrageous.

  2. Vonique Leary says:

    I agree there probably are not any DIRECT deaths from marijuana but according to the NIDA, “numerous studies have shown that marijuana is an irritant to the lungs. In fact, marijuana smoke contains 50-70 percent more carcinogenic hydrocarbons than tobacco smoke.” I think it is likely that marijuana contributes to lung cancer, as most health care professionals, myself included, are convinced. I don’t have any problem with medicinal use of it though, as there are modes of application that preclude the carcinogenic risks, as you mentioned. But legalizing it means teens will have increased use of smoking it. Sad.

    • Steven McNight says:

      Teens already do it and prohibition simply doesn’t work. In Portugal they decriminalized the use of all drugs over 10 years ago and after 5 years what they found is … “The paper, published by Cato in April, found that in the five years after personal possession was decriminalized, illegal drug use among teens in Portugal declined and rates of new HIV infections caused by sharing of dirty needles dropped, while the number of people seeking treatment for drug addiction more than doubled.” Legalizing cannabis would take that one step further and allow for regulation and education. This would also reduce a lot of gang violence which is predominately drug related. There are also many non tobacco smoking marijuana users yet there is still no evidence that there are deaths due to lung cancer. I do believe it may be possible but the fact is the majority is not doing the volume needed to cause serious health issues and decriminalizing it or even legalizing it would not significantly increase health issues, definitely no where near the level of legal prescription drugs or other far worse legal drugs like alcohol and tobacco.

  3. Vonique Leary says:

    Well if twice as many people in Portugal became drug addicted after they legalized all drugs, doesn’t that say something about increasing access to the stuff??? I’m not that upset about legalizing an ounce of marijuana, but decriminalizing heroin?? And as for legalizing marijuana allowing for education and regulation, that didn’t do anything for alcohol abuse. Sorry, but as a health care professional, I have seen far too many adverse effects caused by excess drinking to be excited about legitimate pot use as a way to teach good lifestyle habits to teens.

    Now, prescription drug abuse, that’s another subject for debate………..

  4. Steven McNight says:

    Who said twice as many people in Portugal became drug addicted after decriminalizing? There is quite a lot of education on alcohol so I am not sure how you came to that conclusion. There are people that have by nature an addictive personality (I am one) and they will abuse anything, even Mcdonalds and that wont change simply by making something illegal. Decriminalize heroin, sure why not! It is no different than Oxycontin, accept for the crime and gang violence due to its illegality. People have this notion that if something is readily available EVERYONE will become junkies, and I think that’s complete nonsense. I will never take Heroin even if it’s give to me for free, would you? Besides teens already do things like Bath Salts and apparently now GLASS CLEANER to get their highs and it will continue on to the next thing. Wouldn’t people rather teens be having a joint on the weekend with their friends or doing glass cleaner at the train yard.

  5. Vonique Leary says:

    Well, I thought you said in your previous post that the number of people seeking treatment for drug addiction more than doubled after they decriminalized possession. Maybe I misunderstood your point. No, I would never take heroin, even if it was legal and given to me free and in fact, even if paid to! And honestly don’t think I would have as a teen even if it had been legal back then, so that point you made is valid. I just worry about teens who don’t have the parental example I had and other things that allowed me to use good judgement and not get involved in drugs. I’ve seen many lives destroyed through drug abuse. But I understand why some may feel that it should not be a legal issue.

    The original reason I posted was that it angered me when I heard Matt Walsh proclaiming how ignorant people are who don’t think drugs should be legalized, as though there should only be one opinion on it (his), and then when he began to posit that it would actually be a great form of revenue for the government because it would be taxed as a business, well, that sent me over the edge…….

  6. Steven McNight says:

    I agree with the parental issue, it makes a huge factor in judgement of these teens. Unfortunately there is not much that can be done about bad parental advice or none at all. A well setup society is what makes good people which in-turn breeds their set of values to the next generation.

    In general I believe western society is pretty good in this regard and that is why I strongly believe that decrim/legalization will not be cause any new issues. In fact I believe it will save tax payers billions, and reduce gang drug related violence and deaths.

    I am curious as to why you were so infuriated over the taxing of legitimate businesses who sell marijuana? The government already makes ungodly amounts of money taxing tobacco and alcohol which are far far worse.

  7. Steven McNight says:

    Oh and in regard to …
    “Well, I thought you said in your previous post that the number of people seeking treatment for drug addiction more than doubled after they decriminalized possession.”

    That just meant more people were seeking treatment, not that more people were doing it.

  8. Vonique Leary says:

    “The government already makes ungodly amounts of money taxing tobacco and alcohol which are far far worse.”

    Well, that angers me too! You might be surprised to learn I live in Kentucky, where everyone smokes. I just heard of a report that says the highest lung cancer rates are in Kentucky. But they keep puffing away.

    So, you probably guessed what a purist I am. I don’t mind a little alcohol once in a while. I will sit and nurse a half glass of wine at a wedding or something. Why can’t everyone drink like me? Think of all of the problems that would not even exist were that the case….

  9. Vonique Leary says:

    You might be surprised if I tell you I am a liberal democrat (very liberal). Don’t even get me started on gun control….

  10. Kevin Wright says:

    I remember seeing an article about people serving 100 year sentences in Oklahoma for possession of pot, sometimes just a few joints. Let’s see, at $36,000 a year how much does that cost Oklahoma?

  11. Cylar says:

    I’ll tell you what. If you want to toke up, be my guest. This one subject I’m just sick and tired of discussing – legalizing cannabis. No, really. Don’t we have anything more important to argue about, like spiraling debt and millions of children slaughtered in the womb?

    I have one question: If it’s so harmless (and so profitable), why aren’t Pfizer and Merck and other big drug companies clamoring to get in on the cannabis growing-and-selling act? Why do I need to buy it from a ponytail hippie at a store, with jars of “Jamaica Gold” and “Diamond Shark” sitting out on the counter…instead of taking a doctor’s prescription down to Walgreens as I would when buying codeine syrup or antibiotics?

    Go ahead and legalize the stuff at the federal level (as several states have already done) and include an opt-out clause for any state who doesn’t wish people to partake within their borders. Frankly, at this point I’m simply curious to see if all the legalizers’ claims (drop in price, drop in related crime, drop in incarceration rates, increased tax revenue) will come true.

    Actually I do have one more question: If it’s “legalized,” it would be done so in the sense that alcohol is “legal,” am I correct? As in only sold to people over 21 with punishments for operating a motor vehicle under the influence, etc etc? My question: Why would those laws be any better enforced than the existing prohibitions on general cannabis use? If it is “everywhere and easy to get” now, won’t it still be “everywhere and easy to get” once it’s legalized, including by people who aren’t supposed to have any because they’re underage?

    The guy down the hall from my dorm room in college was growing the stuff in a trash can hidden in his closet, so don’t give me this crap about how nobody will be able to get ahold of it without showing proper ID at a licensed vendor.

    And I apologize, but one last question: For the love of Sam Houston, can we PLEASE stop calling it “medicine?” Yeah, yeah, I get it, Tokey McToke..it dulls your senses and that’s why “it’s the only thing that helps” with your glaucoma or back pain or pigeon toes or whatever. (I’m sure you really, really did try *all* of the conventional pharmaceuticals your doctor was willing to prescribe you.) Just admit that you *like* smoking the Mary Jane because it gets you high…and stop pretending that it’s some wonderful, beneficial cure-all for what ails you. Is that too much to ask?

  12. Steven McNight says:

    Wow, ignorance is very strong in you. You do realize that Bill Orielly, and fox news is a joke right … really abortion is the biggest evil in the world? Marijuana is medicinal 100%, do your research. If people want to abuse or do it recreational then good luck to them. Have you even seen the stats on deaths for fda approved pharmaceutical drugs?? I would suggest in future don’t bring your local church morality into serious physical world subjects that effect modern society. The bronze age was long ago … time to progress and grow up out of fairy tales.

  13. Ontheflipside says:

    I have read all of your comments. Quite honestly it has been a debat in my family, my mom is an RN, and with my friends. I was born in the Appalachian mountains in a relatively wealthy town on the TN boarder. Most of my extended family are coal miners and live out in the hollar.

    I also spent about half of my life growing up in CA. My friends, well most of them, tried weed at one point or a annother in our surfer pothead town. Some of them loved the high. But most just did it because it was cool and they werent supposed to.

    After i moved back to southern va, they legalized medical weed in CA. Getting a licence was not hard according to my friends. They enjoyed it for a few months then they stopped altogether. Those people that i thaught would never go anywhere, are now doing great with degrees and jobs/careers.

    Im almost 25. My generation is one of the most irrespirresponsible and least respectful yet. Drugs are a problem,but only because we dont have thr respect for thrm and education to deal with them. too many of my friends parents partied hard and then decided that it was better to protect their kids by making them ignorant of drugs and alcohol. Those were my pothead friends. Either way. Everyone wants what they cant have. Make it legal and it no longer falls under teen angst.

    Just my opinion.

Comments are closed.